By April 12, 2016 No Comments

The Karolinska Sleepiness Scale (KSS) is a 9-point Likert scale often used when conducting studies involving self-reported, subjective assessment of an individual’s level of drowsiness at the time.  The KSS Scores are defined as follows:

9. Extremely sleepy, fighting sleep
8. Sleepy, some effort to keep alert
7. Sleepy, but no difficulty remaining awake
6. Some signs of sleepiness
5. Neither alert nor sleepy
4. Rather alert
3. Alert
2. Very alert
1. Extremely alert

The KSS has an extensive body of literature linking KSS scores to actual workplace performance and objective measures of fatigue. The FAID Quantum BMM uses this scale enabling the user to better understand the numeric output aided by the descriptions associated with each score value.

Leave a Reply